Mission Statement

We are the duly elected and lawfully commissioned Law Enforcement Officers of Elbert County. We have the duty to preserve the peace and protect the lives, person(s), property, health and morals of the people. We are the keeper of the County's Jail and we are the arm and the sword of the honorable court.

elbert county seal


Patrol Division

The Patrol Division is the most visible and recognizable unit of the Elbert County Sheriff’s Office, operating 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.  Patrol deputies are responsible for responding to emergency and non-emergency calls, serving civil papers, serving warrants, arresting and transporting offenders, first responders who provide proactive community and neighborhood patrols, enforce local, state, and federal laws, traffic laws, and report offenses.  Patrol is the backbone of any Sheriff’s Office.  Patrol performs initial investigations into offenses, prevents, and deters criminal activity through their presence.  


Administration personnel are the background support for the overall operations of the Sheriff’s Office. Responsibilities include purchasing supplies and equipment, maintaining the sex offenders registered in Elbert County, for processing, maintaining, retrieving and releasing information and copies of reports in accordance with federal and state regulations and guidelines. Records personnel are responsible for entering wanted persons, running criminal history, and stolen items on the Georgia Criminal Information Center (GCIC) maintain the warrants. 

In addition to all the operational support duties, they are also the first contact when you visit the Sheriff’s Administrative offices. They can answer questions or direct you to the best source to get your answers.


Criminal Investigations Division investigates crimes against property, which includes such acts as burglary, auto theft, financial transaction fraud, and identity theft. Detectives also investigate crimes against persons such as armed robberies, murder, aggravated assault, rape, and family violence.  Investigators are on-call to respond to serious crime incidents. 

The Criminal Investigation Division has four investigators: Lt. Terry Reese who has twenty-three years of law enforcement experience, Lt. Darren Scarborough who has 12 years in law enforcement experience, Lt. Tammy Gilliard and Lt.


The primary responsibility of this division is to ensure the safety and security of the Elbert County Complex, Courthouse and the people who appear and work in it. Specifically this includes maintaining the safe environment of the various courts (Superior, State, Magistrate, Juvenile and Probate courts) and operating weapons screening systems at the Courthouse entrances.

Detention Center

The Detention Center’s function is to receive and process people that are taken into custody. Once a person has been turned over to the jail they are either given an opportunity to post a cash or property bond and be released pending a court hearing or held until the court disposes of their case. Once a person is convicted and sentenced to either county time or state time, they are held until their sentence is served in accordance to law or transferred into a state facility.
The Administrative personnel at the Detention Center are responsible for records, scheduling request data entry received and served of Civil Papers and Subpoenas 
The Detention Center has a staff of thirty Detention Officers, two Administrative Assistant, two medical, three dietary, 1 Assistant Jail Administrator and 1 Jail Administrator. The total bed capacity is 117. The Detention Center houses inmates for Elbert County, Elberton Police Department and other out of county agencies when available.